Loading Articles, Notes and Highlights... This may take some time.

Federal Act
on the National Languages and
Understanding between the Linguistic Communities
(Languages Act, LangA)

English is not an official language of the Swiss Confederation. This translation is provided for information purposes only and has no legal force.

of 5 October 2007 (Status as 1 February 2021)

Art. 21

1 With­in the lim­its of the au­thor­ised cred­its, the Con­fed­er­a­tion shall grant the pluri­lin­gual can­tons fin­an­cial as­sist­ance so that they may per­form their spe­cif­ic tasks.

2 The can­tons of Bern, Fri­bourg, Graubünden and Val­ais are con­sidered to be pluri­lin­gual.

3 Spe­cif­ic tasks are in par­tic­u­lar:

es­tab­lish­ing suit­able con­di­tions and aids for the pluri­lin­gual work in polit­ic­al au­thor­it­ies, the law en­force­ment and justice sys­tem, and ad­min­is­trat­ive au­thor­it­ies;
en­cour­aging pluri­lin­gual­ism among learners and teach­ers in the of­fi­cial lan­guages of the can­ton at all aca­dem­ic levels.